Thread: New to the forum and loads of questions

daleanthony is offline Junior Member

Default New to the forum and loads of questions

Hi All

Totally new to the forum, just found it whilst researching moving to NZ.

Well last year was a bad year for me, gave up my job in the UK due to ill health in the family and a few other reasons. Were due to take two months trip to NZ and South Africa then the OH employeer said no at the last min so we cancelled.

Anyway i went to the NZ expo last year and got talking to a company and since then have had several "phone confrence" intervies with them and various emails. They seam keen and have taken references up as well and looking at puting a package together.

I am an Environmental Engineer with 10 years UK experience in Waste Management.

Many question if anyone can hep with any of them:

1) The position will be based in Manukau City, were do we live? I want a beach/rural area and dont mind a reasonable commute, been doing it for 10 years so to get the house and lifestyle i don;t mind doing it some more.

2) What is Manukau city like? Heard it is developing and moving up-market? Is this the case.

3) Best route of entry working visa residency? my OH ony wants to move for 2 years but i think once were there then we will stay.

4) Pets, we have a dog, looked at the other posts. What are the approx charges and how long does it take.

5) Salary expecations and assitance to move. I earn ?47k in the uk. Will i get anywhere near this. Plus my wife has'nt a job offer so will need to find work once out. Is this easy. She does work in a similar field to me.

6) THANKS FOR GETTING THIS FAR

Dale

MotherBear is offline The missing link
    currently Ras al Khaimah, UAE, ex Wales, UK
    Blog Entries

Dale and welcome.

Sorry to read that you had a bad 2007. Let's hope 2008 will be a fresh start for you and your family, starting with a job offer in NZ for you. Fingers crossed.