Thread: Too old?

Ellbee is offline Junior Member

Default Too old?

Hi all,

Want to emigrate to NZ with husband and dog! ?I am almost 56 and hubby is 58. ?Are ?we too old? :'(

I have been teaching for 30 years, now in special ed. and have a Masters degree in Education + am ?undertaking a Ph.D. - due to complete in 2 years My partner is a trained horticulturalist and working craftsman gardener also with carpentry qualification and skills. ?We have around ?250K to invest in property and/ or business and want to keep working.

What are our chances as skilled migrant worker guidelines seem to suggest that we are just past it! ?Any help/advice gratefully received.

Thanks
    Ellbee

Daisyspop is offline Senior Member

Default Re: Too old?

I don't know what the cut-off age is but I do know that NZ has a great need for educators and may be prepared to make special arrangements. Why don't you contact NZ House in London or seek out a teacher recruitment agency and pose the question?

Taffy is offline He who shall be ignored
    Blog Entries

Hi,

I believe 55 is the upper age limit, but as Daisyspop said, it may be worth contacting immigration as teachers are in high demand so they may allow special circumstances.

Good luck!
    Taffy

The greatest mistake you can make in life is to be continually fearing you will make one.

duane1x is offline Member

Hi all,

?We have around ?250K to invest in property and/ or business and want to keep working.

What are our chances as skilled migrant worker guidelines seem to suggest that we are just past it! ?Any help/advice gratefully received.

Thanks
    Ellbee
    I think you would be a good candidate for the Long Term Business category, if you are willing to be self employed. Check the list here:
    http://www.immigration.govt.nz/migra...hatisrequired/