Thread: Family sponsorship or LTBV for my folks?

Jodie is offline Senior Member
    Tauranga (since May 2007) - Wellington for 3 years before that!

Default Family sponsorship or LTBV for my folks?

Hi guys,

Just got off the phone to my parents and they are starting to look into coming out to NZ to join us soon cos they're fed up with everything in the uk, but the main problem is residency. So - I thoughtI'd jump in here and see what you guys thought!

Daz and I have only been residents for 1 year (been in NZ on work permits for nearly 2 now) so as far as I understand it from the immigration site, I can't sponsor them until I've been a resident for 3 years. (Bloody NZIS taking 9 months to process our app! Could have been 9 months closer to that by now!! ARRRGGGG! )

Another option they're thinking about is coming over and starting a business - my Dad has run a drainage and maintenance business with my Uncle for about 10 years now and he could start something similar over here (drainage layers are on the shortage list so it would be seen as helping bring skills into NZ I'd have thought...).

Otherwise its a case of getting a job as a project manager in the drainage/maintenance field and going through the skilled migrants category maybe (if this was accepted as a skilled job), but they'd only get about 110 points (cos neither have degrees - do city and guilds count towards the qually section does anyone know? Dad's done a city and guilds course in a drain laying/construction supervisory course since he's had the drainage business, but just wondered if anyone knew offhand without having to get it assessed...) - I see that the points are at 140 at the mo so this route wouldn't really be an option right now...

Any ideas or advice out there? Taffy - have you gone down the family sponsorship route with your folks or have I got that wrong? (Sorry - haven't been around here much lately )

Any help or ideas would be much appreciated.

Thanks guys!