Thread: Growing up in NZ

interested is offline Junior Member

Default Growing up in NZ

I'm new to this :icon_eek: and wonder how it works if someone's been educated in NZ :icon_question: .
    My family moved to NZ from UK at my tender age of 3 as my father got work there. I was educated at the local primary, intermediate and high schools. I have since moved back to UK but would like to revisit or possibly move back to NZ one day. Does anyone know if growing up in NZ is considered when applying for documents for living there?

'interested'

Glenda is offline All Knowing Deity

Default Growing up in NZ

Hi interested,

I was educated in intermediate and secondary schools in Auckland but, unless I could say I had a returning residents' visa, citizenship or a NZ passport, it had no bearing on being allowed to emigrate to New Zealand. :icon_sad:

I am pretty sure there is a 'box' on the application forms which asks whether one has lived in NZ in past, and when, but as far as I know there is no 'preference' to those who have lived here before. :icon_sad:

I do recall that if you arrived in NZ before 1974 you were given permanent residency with an indefinite returning residents visa, meaning you can return to live in NZ at any time. Not 100% on this point ... if you fall into this category, I'll see if I can find out more.

Perhaps if you let us know what line of employment you or your partner (if any) are in, someone here can let you know the best way of emigrating to NZ.

:icon_biggrin:
    Glenda
    In NZ since June 2005
    Better to light a candle than to curse the darkness - Chinese proverb

Default Growing up in NZ

Hi Glenda :icon_biggrin:

Thanks for the info. I did think it may be a bit of a long shot, however I'm sure that we moved to NZ in 1973 so there's hope(??). I moved back to UK in 1985, so have been away for over 20 years.