Thread: Arts and youth work in NZ

DawnMarron is offline Oh Masterful One

Default Arts and youth work in NZ

Hi y'all, you seem like a friendly bunch and maybe one of you can help me out. My family and I wanna come and join you out there from UK but am I having a :icon_confused: problem trying to sort out work or what!! I am a freelance artist (performing arts) but I work with the youth service in the community and also in education. Does NZ do anything similar to this as all the info I can find seems to tell me that Youth Workers are Social workers and to work in schools I must be qualified teacher and NZ registered (whatever that is). Here in UK I work alongside education system and also local government, I am police checked etc and work with kids from all walks of life, young offenders, probation, at risk, disabled, learning difficulties, rural, inner city, drug/alcohol abusers etc etc surely this kind of experience is invaluable anywhere, I just can't seem to find a network that would channel it in NZ. Please, please help me out here!!!! Getting desperate, Dawney

jadet is offline Junior Member

I found this job:
    http://www.jobs.govt.nz/jobs/viewjob...tunityID=26030
    that seemed like the sort of thing you might be talking about, in Christchurch

This one looks like it might pay better:
    http://www.jobs.govt.nz/jobs/viewjob...tunityID=26315

There are lots with the govt posted at http://www.jobs.govt.nz

:icon_wink: Thank you jadet, great site, will spend hours trawling through it later today!!! At last, a light at the end of the tunnel :icon_biggrin:

MotherBear is offline The missing link
    currently Ras al Khaimah, UAE, ex Wales, UK
    Blog Entries

Dawn, I don't know if this is of any interest to you. I haven't read through it, but it just reminded me of you.
    Mother Bear

Try to bloom wherever you are planted.