Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Racism in New Zealand

ExPat is offline Member

Default Racism in New Zealand

Hello All,

I'm a newbie here but I had a question about racism in NZ. The family and I are planning on visiting New Zealand this winter and do some "prospecting" on possibly migrating there from the US. I've purchased a few NZ immigration books and have thoroughy read many websites (like this one and Glena's story) and there is frequent mention of racism against Asians. Although I'm not Asian I am concerned that a country's population would so openly show animosity/hatred to a particular group of people and it's giving me pause of even visiting there now. The last thing anyone wants to feel is unwelcome.

My questions are:
    1. Why is there so much angst against the Asian community/population in NZ?
    2. Does this racism spread to other ethnic groups as well in NZ but not as common as Asians (i.e. Africans, Hispanics, non-Europeans, etc)?

Pulsarblu is offline God like figure

Hello ExPat, a warm welcome to the forum.

Generally speaking, racism is not wide spread in New Zealand. I am Chinese and I have not experience that while I was there in NZ last year.

Racism is everywhere, not only in NZ. I feel it is less mild in NZ.

My approach to this issue is two fold rather it takes two hands to clap. Racism stems from the mistaken perception that the particular person across the street is biased against you or you think negatively about that person. It is also the result of the train of thought that "I am more superior than you" and "You are not within our group" and so on.