Thread: new to site-general questions

printman is offline Junior Member

Default new to site-general questions

Hello, This site is great. My wife, year old girl and I are contemplating a move of undetermined length to NZ in the next few years. My wife is a community health nurse and I am an artist/teacher. Both scored above 100 on the quick test and were wondering about a few things. I'm brand new to the place so I'll start with a variety of scattered questions.
    *How much money on hand should we have upon arrival? We have a house in the US but not a ton of cash lying around. So I guess equity is our strength in this department.
    *Hows the market for community health nurses in NZ as opposed to hospital nurses? The equivalent to community health nurses in NZ is the plunkett nurse I think.
    * Any information on the arts community in NZ? How about job prospects for part-time or adjunct teaching in the arts?
    Thanks so much and look forward to all the goodies you can provide! THANKS

Pulsarblu is offline God like figure

Welcome printman to the forum.

There are already some discussions going on in this forum pertaining to your questions so doing some searching using the search tool will be good.

However these are my personal opninions regarding your questions.

Money...I would say it really depends on the lifestyle you would want to have when you arrive in NZ, what kind of house (rental/buy), car, general living expense - night(s) out per week and etc.. I would say you will need some reserve money to at least survive comfortably for 6 months to one year in case you cannot find job.

I am unsure about nurses since my profession is in IT...but I know there is a long term shortages of nurses so getting a nursing job in NZ is surely possible be it community or hospital nurses.