Thread: Hello and questions about teaching and IT jobs

KiwiHopeful is offline God like figure

Default Hello and questions about teaching and IT jobs

Hello all! Great forum and community you have here!

I have some history and some questions ... sorry if I'm overwhelming in my first post here, but obviously moving literally 1/2 way around the globe is a big decision.

First, some history. I've been thinking about moving to NZ for a little over two years now. My EOI has been sitting on the NZIS site for a year now, waiting for me to convince my wife moving to NZ would be a good decision. I want to go to find a better quality of life than we have here in the US. Obviously, I'm not talking about the creature comforts, but the WAY we live.

I'm a secondary-level English teacher and school administrator, and my wife is a project manager for a software company. I have education beyond a master's degree in education, so I'm sure I can get about 145 points (if I've filled out my EOI properly). My wife has a degree in history, with some credits toward an MBA, though she has been in her position for 7 years, doing largely non-technical work in the IT field.

So, what do you think our employment prospects are? I'm not looking to make it rich--if I were, I'd leave teaching and stay here in the US--but I do have my sons to look out for, one who is 3 and the other who is just under a year old.

Also, I could probably land in NZ with about $100,000 USD in my pocket. Would that be enough to, in effect, 'start over' without having to ... well, live like we were really starting over.

Again, sorry for the long post, but thank you in advance for your help. :)
    EOI Submitted: July 20, 2006
    EOI Selected: August 2, 2006
    ITA Received: October 12, 2006
    ITA Submitted: February 2, 2007
    Migrant Levy Paid & Visas Shipped: June 6, 2007
    Arrived in NZ: July 26th, 2007
    Leaving NZ: June 1st, 2008

Taffy is offline He who shall be ignored
    Blog Entries

Hi,