Thread: University

Coulliette is offline Member

Default University

Does anyone know if there are any older people at the universities in NZ? I got married pretty young and started working at a family business, and have in the past few years decided to go back to school. Real Estate is not really my thing...I'm more of a biologist type :icon_wink: I've got a few years left here, but was thinking about going for a Masters in NZ. Is that a likely scenario?

netchicken is offline Senior Member

Default University

Do it!

When I went through uni, as a mature student back in 89, I graduated in 95 with a lady in her 70's who did her degree becuase after her husband died she got bored. There were heaps of adult students back then.

So much so I remember in one education tutorial where we were talking about experiences we had with the education system, one late teen uni kid complained that she couldn't contribute because she didn't have as many life experiences as the rest of us.

As a mature adult (25?) then I knew what I was giving up to go to uni, and focused on getting my masters. You wern't in the same bind as typical adolescents who were trying to study and at the sme time live the new found freedom to get drunk and experience life.

I imagine that now there will be HEAPS more mature adults at university. (actually I will moderate that as the very low unemployment have meant typical adult students are actually busy working)

Default University

Thanks for the info netchicken! :icon_biggrin: I'm in the same situation now...in a group of classes with more mature (not necessarily including myself :icon_wink: ) students, and it seems to go a lot smoother than my previous university experiences. Well....we'll see if I last until my Masters. :icon_razz:

Thanks again!

Pulsarblu is offline God like figure

Default University

By all means, life long learning is the best way to keep yourself moving forward and not becoming stagnant.