Thread: where do i start?

bruce is offline Junior Member

Default where do i start?

Hi i am new to this but i am thinking about moving to NZ next year.I am a motor mechanic and my wife is a nurse ,we have 2 kids . Would like to move to Hamilton area.Any advice would be grateful.
    Thanks.

Taffy is offline He who shall be ignored
    Blog Entries

Hi Bruce,

Welcome to the forum :icon_biggrin:

We live in Hamilton, so we can give you some good advice on the place, so just let us know what you want to know!

Mechanics jobs are plentiful around Hamilton, and there is a large hospital in the city, so nurse jobs covered for your wife too :icon_cool:

Ask away!
    Taffy

The greatest mistake you can make in life is to be continually fearing you will make one.

Hi,
    Have lots of questions that i would like to ask but will start with the easy ones first,what are the weather and culture changes like,is there a big difference in the cost and standard of living,and is the education standard good.
    We are booked up to come to NZ on holiday nexy March,so we will be using this as a fact finding mission as well.
    Thanks.
    Bruce.

Taffy is offline He who shall be ignored
    Blog Entries

Well, compared to Scotland, it will probably be a tropical paradise!

Culturally it is very different in some respects, but the same in others. It's quite hard to describe and is something that needs to be experienced to understand.

Cost / Standard of living? Well this has been debated many times over. Costs of living are cheaper when compared to the UK, but some people find it too much when they get here. As for standard of living, well that depends what you want from it. NZ is most certainly an 'enjoy being here' rather than 'enjoy what you can get by being here' kind of place. That suits us to a tee but to some people it's their idea of hell!