Thread: newbie....need some guidance

dilphinus is offline Junior Member

Default newbie....need some guidance

Hi, I'm interested in getting a PR in New Zealand.

I'm 25 this year and I've been with my bf for about a year and a half. We aren't sort of living together. On some weekdays, he stays over at my house while on the weekends (Fridays to Mondays) I stay over at his house. Both of us live with our parents and siblings. We have a joint account and we have also been on holiday together. Will this be sufficient for us if I apply as the main applicant and he as my de facto?

I have a 3 year Diploma in Film, Sound and Video from a Singapore polytechnic. Is this considered a qualification in the 'identified cluster'?

I have been working as a corporate travel consultant for about 4 years. However, I do not have any qualifications in tourism/travel. Will this affect my application?

Will I be given points for my qualification and working experience?

I have yet to send out any resumes. I'm still quite new to this.

SteveyC is offline Right Royal Pain In The Posterior

Sorry, not sure I understood entirely what you meant. Is your boyfriend a kiwi?
    Have you tried the skill migrants points calculator on the NZIS website?

[quote:ba481609ba="SteveyC"]Sorry, not sure I understood entirely what you meant. Is your boyfriend a kiwi?
    Have you tried the skill migrants points calculator on the NZIS website?[/quote:ba481609ba]

Nope, my bf is not a kiwi. Both of us are Singaporeans. I'm dying to get out of Singapore. I have tried the skill migrants point calculator already. I have 105 points. But I'm not sure if I 'deserve' those points.

First of all, I don't know if my qualification will get me 50 points. And I will also be getting points for partner's qualifications and experience?

My qualification is a 3 year diploma from a Singapore government polytechnic.

SteveyC is offline Right Royal Pain In The Posterior