Thread: I have a complicated subject, so get comfy.

saraian is offline Oh Masterful One

Default I have a complicated subject, so get comfy.

Rebekah our middle daughter has dyslexia, went through primary with not too many problems as she had lots of support and fantastic teachers. When she reached secondary we had problems. Her eldest sister has gone through ok but she is academic, makes a difference. I worked in a school with children with special education needs so I am aware of the system and to be frank, it has put me of teaching, which was my plan after completion of degree. Don't get me wrong I have family members and good friends who are teachers and do a great job. It's just the redtape and children increasingly becoming just statistics.

Anyway back to the point. I now Home Educated Rebekah, leaving my job to be with her. She could not cope with the pressure of seconary school life. Kids blowing joints in her face arosol cans lit and threatening to lite alot of the kids hair, setting fire to her seat, pushing kids of the bus before there stop. All examples of the joys of the school bus. Which schools 'cannot be held responsible for' Teachers calling her stupid and the lack of support she had once received in primary.

I have looked around and know it is perfectly legal in NZ as it is here in the UK but just wondered what visa she would have to come on until we get residency. Is it still a student? as she is receiving an education. Would they turn us down because of it? She is frightened of school.

Taffy is offline He who shall be ignored
    Blog Entries

From what we've seen of schools (only primary schools) there is a far greater 'bond' going on in the classrooms.

The teachers were making a point of spending time with each student, and helping out the struggling ones.