Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Work To Residence?

Col44 is offline Junior Member

Default Work To Residence?

Hiya all, thinking (long and hard) about making the move over, I am a LGV1 driver and know there are a few Haulage co.s that are Accredited employers ,does this mean that i could gain residence quicker/easier than going through other routes? how would this work when bringing wife and 3 young kids.
    Basic questions I know but have been trolling thro many sites the last few days and my heids up my jacksi, just looking for simple advice really particularly making the family feel secure as soon as poss.
    Colin

saraian is offline Oh Masterful One

Hi Col

Sounds like we are in similar position as you Col, we also have three kids and you want to make sure you are doing the right thing for the family. We looked into Permanent Residency through the EOI route but Ian hasn't enough points without job offer. The other way we looked at is to go on a work permit/visa with an accredited employer and then work towards residency. I think but not 100% sure that you have to be there a few months before starting the process of PR. Anyone else out there Know because I'm starting to waffle! Help! :icon_eek: icon_exclaim.gif

Taffy is offline He who shall be ignored
    Blog Entries

Hi,

There is no set time before you can start a PR application, as long as you gain enough points you can just apply.

Work to residence is a tricky one as you have to have a job earning at least $45,000 a year, and meet the other criteria set out for the category.

I would be more inclined to go for a work permit once you have a job, and then apply for PR straight away.
    Taffy

The greatest mistake you can make in life is to be continually fearing you will make one.