Thread: Hi All + Nurse employment question

siggy is offline Junior Member

Default Hi All + Nurse employment question

First off Hello All :o)

I've just convinced my wife that a move to NZ would be great for us - better life style, adventure, opportunities for our 18 yr old daughter, etc, etc.
    So, I've just begun looking into the immigration requirements & such.

Having read that it's easier to 'get in' if you have a job offer, it seems to me that making the application with my wifes qualifications might be best as she's a Psychiatric Nurse - Sister / G grade (I think) - whereas I'm a Computer Programmer (both our jobs are in the long term skills shortage list!).

So my question is, has anyone got any experience of obtaining a nursing position through one / any of the nurse agencies?
    Any recommendations / suggestions?

Many thanks in advance

Siggy

Midder is offline Member

Hi Siggy,

my experience is don't use an agency. I was with Nurseworlwide and Health Staff Recruitment. I first applied in June last year and by January this year I still didn't have a sniff of a job. I'm not a nurse, I'm a Midwife. I eventually got so fed up of waiting for the agencies to pull their fingers out, that I sat one night on the internet and got a list of Hospitals and the phone numbers for department heads, managers and recruitment departments. On the Sunday night at a time I knew there would be people at work, I phoned these people. Within the first 3 calls I had a job offer and phone interviews lined up. Agencies are too expensive and most hospitals don't like to use them, same as in UK. For a ?20 phone bill, I'd got myself a job and I start in July.

Hope this helps
    Midder :icon_mrgreen:

Hi Midder

thanks for the reply & the advice, it's very much appreciated.

Are you now in NZ following these offers / interviews?
    Did / has your EOI, etc go smoothly following the offer?