Thread: Advice Needed

Warbis is offline Junior Member

Default Advice Needed

Hello Forum Goers,

I apologise now for the essay i am about to write which may me littered with inaccuracies (but hopefully not)

My name is Robert and Im a UK citizen and resident and have been for all my 27 years. My partner Sarah (also uk cit and res, age 21) and i wish to emigrate to New Zealand in a few years but require some friendly advice first.

We are both about to finish our university degrees, (ME: BSc Hons applied animal behavioural science and welfare, and SARAH: Bsc Hons conservation and biodiversity) Sarah is most likely going to do a PGCE (teaching top of course) and teach primary school for a few years to get some experience.

I've always wanted to join the police force and my degree may help me in later years if I was able to move to the dog unit. As far as i am aware you need to be a permanent resident to apply to the NZ police force. Is there any way to gain permanent residency right away or will we need to move and work in NZ for 2 years before being able to apply for it?

As we wont be ready for a few years i was planning on joining the specials over here (same as police only you volunteer) and work as a animal behavioural consultant for problem behaviour pets. I'd love to work in my degree field which is actually very broad but if NZ is anything like the UK animal science jobs are few and far between. But if there is anything else anyone can recommend i do to boost my chances of employment in NZ Id be happy to hear them.

Any advice or feedback is much appreciated.

MotherBear is offline The missing link
    currently Ras al Khaimah, UAE, ex Wales, UK
    Blog Entries

Hi Warbis