Thread: Possibility?

xeys_00 is offline Junior Member

Default Possibility?

Is it possible to just get all the documents you have, transcripts, and any other document(birth certificate, etc), and just go to new zealand and work everything out while you are there? I'm a food service manager and have 3 years salaried experience doing this. Would I get booted out? I was thinking I could get a prep cook position or something while going thru the process.

Taffy is offline He who shall be ignored
    Blog Entries

While it's possible and has certainly been done before, you need to be 100% sure that you are eligible under which ever category you are applying, else it could go horribly wrong!
    Taffy

The greatest mistake you can make in life is to be continually fearing you will make one.

hoping2win is offline Junior Member

you didn't say if you were coming on your own? Certainly you could come as a visitor (again length of permit depends on family and age) and maybe if you are single meet a nice kiwi girl then apply for residency on a partnership basis.

MotherBear is offline The missing link
    currently Ras al Khaimah, UAE, ex Wales, UK
    Blog Entries

It would be easier and less risky if you were going to NZ alone because there wouldn't be the same worry about uprooting kids who are in school and wife/partner who may have a job. There would only be yourself to look after which means less upheaval.

If you intend looking for work while you're there, you would not be allowed to work without a valid work visa. It can depend on the type of work you're doing, and whether a kiwi can be found to do the same job, before a work visa is granted. Going to NZ and applying from there would be a great risk but, if you always bear in mind that it may not work out the way you had hoped, at least you would have had an experience. And I believe it is cheaper to submit an application in NZ although it can take longer due to volume of applicants.
    Mother Bear