Thread: Application for PR or Work Permit?

striped is offline Junior Member

Default Application for PR or Work Permit?

Hi all,

1st of all it has been a while since I've been on the Forum (after obtaining my initial work permit) - everyone here has been incredibly helpful which has been very much appreciated - Thank you. However I could do with a little bit more advise please.

I have been living with my finace here in NZ since Feb 2010. Obtained a 1yr Work Permit & Work Visa (via partnership) which expires in Aug 2011. I have been working full time since Nov 2010.

My question is what should I do next? I plan to marry my fiance (a NZ Citizen) at the end of this year, we've been living together in a stable relationship since Feb 2010. We want to apply for PR via partnership. We are going to wait until we have been officially living together for 12 months and apply in March this year. However my Work Permit/Visa runs out in Aug and the application for PR could take some time - and what if it gets turned down? We would be left in a very precarious situation - I may not be able to stay for my own wedding!?

Should I apply for an extension to my Work Visa now and delay applying for PR? Or could I ask to get an extention on my Work Permit whilst a PR application is being processed? It doesn't seem practical to apply for both at the same time as I would need to pay for two sets of paperwork (ie/ Medical, Police check etc.)?

Any advise appreciated. x

MotherBear is offline The missing link
    currently Ras al Khaimah, UAE, ex Wales, UK
    Blog Entries