Thread: What salary?

Heleng is offline Junior Member

Default What salary?

Hello

I'm new to these parts *waves*

Currently applying for a job with the new Auckland Council as a resource consent planner. The online form asks me to put down an expected salary but to be honest I have no idea what this kind of work pays in NZ. I don't want to go too high but I need to set a minimum for what I am prepared to work for.

I've had a good think about this and realised Its pointless aiming for my current salary here in the UK because the cost of living is likely to differ so much, so I guess the question is, what standard of living do I have, expect and how much will it cost.

If say, I wanted the following, then what kind of salary would I need to earn:

Live in Auckland - shared house ok. Somewhere nice(ish), commutable to the CBD but not in a flat with no garden etc. Hip and edgy is good but not too rough.
    Run a car - though not an expensive one
    About 1600 NZD left over (my current disposable income from my 30k UK salary) after paying all my standard bills (Insurances, bills for said car and home)

I'm 34, don't have kids or a partner and spent 4 months in NZ back in 2006 so have an approximate idea of food, clothing costs, travel etc.

Many Thanks!

Taffy is offline He who shall be ignored
    Blog Entries

Hi,