Thread: Question about budget needed before moving to NZ

Farzad is offline Member

Default Question about budget needed before moving to NZ

Dear friends,

My question is about budget needed for a couple. we plan to move to NZ in October, My partner will be a PhD student and I will look for a job there. I am an IT service manager.

Because of economy crisis I am afraid of finding a suitable job for one year.
    My questions are:

1- Is USD 20,000 enough to stay in Auckland with my partner for one year without any job? or we should budget less or more? We want to rent a studio or 1bedroom apartment near the University of Auckland.

2- Regarding our background is it reasonable to budget for one year stay without any job? or we can get assured that I can find a job within maximum 6 months?

Thanks & Regards,
    Farzad

MotherBear is offline The missing link
    currently Ras al Khaimah, UAE, ex Wales, UK
    Blog Entries

INZ usually recommends that NZ$1000 per person per month is the least you should have to live on if you don't have accommodation already provided, $400 if you do. There are ways of cutting costs like sharing accommodation with others, eating cheaply etc.

I really don't think anyone could say whether you would get a job within 6 months. It would be up to you to convince a potential employer to give you a job. Each job applicant is different and each employer is different, so we wouldn't be able to guarantee anything as we don't know you personally or your capabilities.
    Mother Bear

Try to bloom wherever you are planted.

Farzad is offline Member

Thank you Mother Bear, your replies always are helpful.

When we enter to NZ we may live in University accommodation or we may share a house, but we do not count on these kinds of accommodation to lower our budget before coming to NZ and realizing our real conditions, so we prefer to budget for not-shared house.