Thread: Best person for EOI with no degree in related field

jimbul is offline Junior Member

Default Best person for EOI with no degree in related field

Hi There,

Myself and my wife have been looking into skilled migration and looked at the points indicators, I came out at 140 and she got 135. Although i filled it in carefully, a migration consultant i spoke to last week said that there was no way i'd get in this way as my degree is not in my field of work. Is this the case?

I have a Physical Geography honours degree, but have worked for the last 10 years in network engineering and management with a particular focus on security and unified communications, I currently manage an engineering and service desk team of 3 and we look after 12 offices across 10 countries all over EMEA. I have vendor certifications, which i see from the other forums dont really count for much, (Checkpoint CCSA, Cisco CCNA and a few MCP's for those interested).

My wife has a degree in environmental resource management and a masters in protected landscape management and has worked as a environmental enforcement officer and a park ranger and is currently employed as a project manager for a sustainable living charity.

I suppose what i'm asking is:

1. Does my lack of related degree completely preclude me from applying to the skilled migrant path.
    2. Would we be better looking into my partner being the principle applicant, given the fact that she is better educated and working in her field of study?

We're working to fill in the forms at the moment, but its not clear whether or not it would be possible to fill it in once in my name, then if we dont get anywhere fill it in in her name! If i knew the degree problem was a major issue then i think we know the answer, but it's not clear whether or not my partner would fit the skills shortage profile.

Anyway, if the answer is "fill in the forms and see" thats fine! I just wondered if anyone else has any experience of a similar situation.