Thread: URGENT HELP NEEDED - EOI rejected

Farzad is offline Member

Exclamation URGENT HELP NEEDED - EOI rejected

Hi,

My EOI was selected from the pool on 16 July 2008. Today I recieved an email from an EOI Officer explaining that my claimed points do not meet requirements.

I hold a Bachelor's degree in Computer Engineering majoring in Hardware from a university which is listed under Recognised Qualifications.
    I was claimed for points of "Work experience in an area of absolute skill shortage" and bonus points for "Qualification in an area of absolute skill shortage" under "System Analyst" (ANZSCO 261112).

EOI Officer is not satisfied that my qualification meets the requirements mentioned in column 4 of LTSSL (Long Term Skill Shortage List) which is:
    "Degree-level qualification (Level 7) majoring in computer science, information science or information technology"
    She says that:
    "your major area of study is not in computer science, information science or information technology, we are not able to award you any bonus points".
    for the same reason, my work experience is not qualifying for points because I have no work experience in a "Comparable Labour Market"; instead I have to meet the requirements for work experience in an area of absolute skill shortage which itself requires a qualification in an area of absolute skill shortage that mentioned above.

She syas that an NZQA IQA (International Qualification Assessment) should be conducted to clear if my qualifcation will be comparable to "computer science, information science or information technology" which may take up to 6 months to be done :(

If somebody could help please let me know:
    1- Does my qualification "Computer Engineering majoring in Hardware" will be comparable to "Information Technology, Computer Science or Information Science"?
    2- Do INZ waits untill I assess my qualification or I should re-submit a new EOI and pay the fee then?
    3- How should I reply her?