Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Claiming experience instead of qualifications?

PieterK is offline Junior Member

Default Claiming experience instead of qualifications?

Hi guys

I have 8 years of experience in the IT field, & I have several IT vendor certificates, as well as a diploma from a South African college that I found out is not accredited in NZ. On the ANZSCO it states:

"UNI T GROU P 263 1 COMP U T E R NETWOR K PROF E S S I O N A L S
    COMPUTER NETWORK PROFESSIONALS
    research, analyse and recommend strategies for network architecture and development, implement, manage, maintain and configure network hardware and software, and monitor and optimise performance, and troubleshoot and provide user support.

Indicative Skill Level:
    In Australia and New Zealand:
    Most occupations in this unit group have a level of skill commensurate with a bachelor degree or higher qualification. At least five years of relevant experience and/or relevant vendor certification may substitute for the formal qualification. In some instances relevant experience and/or on-the-job raining may be required in addition to the formal qualification (ANZSCO Skill Level 1)."

So does that mean I can claim points om my EOI based on my experience & vendor certs instead on having an accredited degree/diploma?

I've searched everywhere for this answer, but have'nt found it yet, so if enyone can help me I'd be eternally greatful.

MotherBear is offline The missing link
    currently Ras al Khaimah, UAE, ex Wales, UK
    Blog Entries

Hi Pieter, to MTNZ.

I'm not very well up on the workings of the different types of qualifications but found this about claiming points for work experience . Perhaps someone can assist with the certificates issue.
    Mother Bear

Try to bloom wherever you are planted.