Thread: Skilled migrant or LTBV

greg&co is offline Junior Member

Default Skilled migrant or LTBV

Hi all,
    I am new here, but so far found most info here.
    Maybe someone will be able to help me to solve this: currently I am GM for a small company and I would like to move to NZ and buy a restaurant here (I know it is hard work, but it is what I was dreaming of doing for long time). As there is no shortages for GM position in NZ I see two options.
    1. Try LTBV, but I am afraid I will not be so lucky as Macfod.
    2. Talk to the restaurant owner that I will decide to buy and offer him a deal that I would like to get an offer of employement and later, after PR I will purchase business from him. I have 6 years of experience of running different companies, but only 2 years of running restaurants in the past.
    Does this sound OK, or it is not realistic?
    Thank you in advance.

fevziye99 is offline Member

Candidly, not too realistic a scenario, however, I'm just going to negate myself. I am a firm believer you should do what you have always dreamed of, but be realistic. Your 'dream' job/work, etc. should be something you can compliment with your real-life experiences and skills.

In your scenario, I would suggest, you learn up more and interact more before making a decision and trodding down that path. Perhaps you can apply under the Skilled Migrant program if your GM work experience would contribute towards it.
    EOI Applied 14th June, 2008 (150 Points, No Job Offer)
    EOI Selected 18th June, 2008
    ITA Received via email on 21st July 2008 (yay!)
    ITA Filed 12th January 2009.
    ITA 'lost'
    On a mission to find the ITA at the local post office! :)

MotherBear is offline The missing link
    currently Ras al Khaimah, UAE, ex Wales, UK
    Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by greg&co View Post