Thread: EOI Question--Opinions

myhomischi is offline Junior Member

Question EOI Question--Opinions

I am interested in moving to New Zealand. I am an attorney in the US with what I think NZ will consider a doctorate degree. I noted that law is not on the long term skills list--so you think I will have enough points? My legal experience is a mix of law and social work (social work is on the list). I have no job offers currently. Thoughts??

MotherBear is offline The missing link
    currently Ras al Khaimah, UAE, ex Wales, UK
    Blog Entries

Myhomischi.

I can't see anything for law on the Immediate Skill Shortage List either. With it not appearing on the LTSSL list, you would probably have to find a different way into NZ as you can't claim points and submit and EOI if your job title isn't on there. Perhaps you could try the Work to Residence Category , but you would need a job offer from an accredited company and a salary of NZ55,000 or over (I believe it has just gone up from $50k). It's a longer route because you have to work for 2 years in that occupation before getting PR.

This and this tell you a bit about the WTR route and what is required.
    Mother Bear

Try to bloom wherever you are planted.

fevziye99 is offline Member

I'm not sure if Attorneys are equated to a Doctorates degree (scholastically speaking). YOu might want to check with NZQA (New Zealand Qualification Authority) to do an assessment which would be required.

New Zealand Qualifications Authority [ NZQA ]

Default thanks

Thanks for the tips. In New Zealand, is a law degree an undergraduate degree? I notice the law schools offer a master's degree which is only 1 year of study. I have studied 4 years undergraduate and 3 years of law--ideas of how that will translate? I'll check New Zealand Qualifications Authority [ NZQA ] but am interested in feedback.
    Thanks

MotherBear is offline The missing link
    currently Ras al Khaimah, UAE, ex Wales, UK
    Blog Entries