Thread: Advice on EOI required

thinkcentre is offline Junior Member

Default Advice on EOI required

Hi there, total newbie here. Am glad that I stumbled across this forum as it seems to have provided a lot of people with answers. :)

I am submitting an EOI under the Skilled Migrant Category. Currently I am employed in New Zealand with a General Work Visa as a Graduate Engineer. I also obtained my degree in a New Zealand university last year (hence the title Graduate Engineer! :) ). I should not have any problems regarding the recognised qualifications questions.

However, I am kind of stumped at this question regarding my employment. It says
    "You should explain what is in your job description and how this is consistent with the occupational tasks for your occupation in the Australian and New Zealand Standard Classification of Occupations. Also explain how your recognised qualification and/or work experience is relevant to your job".

How do I go about explaining that my job description is consistent with the occupational tasks in the ANZSCO list?

Would it be appropriate to just copy and paste my job description (which was kindly provided by the HR manager) and then do a comparison with the tasks listed in the ANZSCO list?

Also, since my official title (under my employment contract) is a Graduate Engineer, but my duties and degree obtained is best described by the Industrial Engineer description on ANZSCO, I assume that it is suitable to list Industrial Engineer is my main occupation. Yes?

Based from what I have read on the Immigration NZ website, a skilled employment is considered skilled if the tasks in my job description matches the qualifications and core tasks in ANZSCO. So, no matter what my "official" title is, as long as my job description matches ANZSCO, I should be fine?