Thread: NZQA view on recognition on recognised degree gain by external student

nwkcmk is offline Junior Member

Default NZQA view on recognition on recognised degree gain by external student

Hi,
    I sent a mail to NZ immigration today regarding my degree recognition but got a reply stating I need to refer to NZQA for pre-assessment report. Well, I just submitted my application to NZQA and hopefully will get a reply soon.

As nervous as I am, can any of you share your experience with me if you have the similar situation as I?

My situation :

I was an external student for University of London and gained a Bachelor of Science in Computing and Information Systems. I studied as part time in one of an institution in Singapore for 3 years on this course. Do my degree stand a chance to be recognised by NZQA?

brgds
    Kevin

karinmp is offline Junior Member

Hi Kevin

I am in a similar situation and was wondering what the outcome of query was?
    Karin

Carl is offline Member

Hi,
    I was/am in the same boat. I have been working toward my degree for a while, but i need to start the credits for my major now. I emailed NZQA and asked which major i should go for in order to be accepted under the "information technology profssionals" category. The skill shortage list says....
    "Degree-level qualification (Level 7) majoring in computer science, information science or information technology"
    I wanted a degree in buisness information technology, which i would figure since it is almost completey IT credits that they would recognize it... also, it is worth mentioning that the degree is from a school that is accredited/recognized by NZQA. It was too late to wait for their response, so i just ended up pursuing a "computer information systems" degree since it sounded like they would like that more. After the fact, i got an email back from them that said something like "they arent in a position to influence my degree path."