Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: recognised qualifications???

gill is offline Junior Member

Wink recognised qualifications???

hi everyone
    this is my first time on the forum and im very glad to see that im not the only confused being looking to emigrate, it all seems to be unbelievably difficult...anyway my question is having looked at as many sites as i can, im unable to find out if my qualifications are acceptable in NZ. im a qualified pharmacy tech who did the training/qualification with boots chemist. the british pharmaceutical ass. recognises the boots qualification as equivalent to nvq level 3, which is a level 5 in NZ and if thats the case then i should be able to apply under the skilled migrant visa but i cant get a definite answer from anywhere...any ideas?
    must say this site is wonderful

MotherBear is offline The missing link
    currently Ras al Khaimah, UAE, ex Wales, UK
    Blog Entries

Welcome to the forum, Gill.

Pharmacist appears on the Long Term Skill Shortages List and pharmacy technician is on the Immediate Skill Shortages List .

You could try the NZQA which is the official body that assesses international qualifications. It will cost you, but at least then you'll know which level they see it as.
    Mother Bear

Try to bloom wherever you are planted.

ebianca is offline Gingery, Peppery & Spicy
    Blog Entries

Hi Gill and Welcome to the Madhouse.

Pharmacy Technician is sort of what I used to do before having my second daughter although the company never put me through any quals even though they spent about 3 years promising to do. I did the job for about 7 years and have nothing to show for it unfortunately- might look into to starting again when we get to NZ but who knows.

As regards to getting a basic assesment from NZQA we did it earlier in the year for my OH and it was about $75 I think.

Hope you get all the answers you need- there is always someone around on here willing to help out.

Beth