Thread: Skilled migrant or LTBV?

Ildefonse is offline Junior Member

Default Skilled migrant or LTBV?

Hi all,

I am new to the forum, and although I am still a couple of years away from moving to New Zealand, I have a choice to make and maybe someone can advise me on what is best.

I hope to receive my M.Sc. degree in Aerospace Engineering soon, and right now I have about 3 years of work experience in the IT sector. This work experience was gained running my own company (together with a friend), which is doing quite well. Right now, my choice is to continue working with this company, and not to try to get a job in Aerospace Engineering.

By the time I will want to move, my work experience in IT could thus be about 5-6 years, and the company will most likely have grown a lot. It is very likely that I will be interested in continuing to work in this field, from New Zealand. This means opening the same business in New Zealand.

Now, my question is, what would be the best thing to do when the time comes? Apply for residency as a skilled migrant, or apply for a long term business visa, and go for residency via that way?

From what I have seen, my work experience is in an area identified to have future growth. I did a quick score calculation, and suppose I would choose to move to outside of Auckland (preferred anyway), with my partner, but without a job offer, I would obtain 120 points, as a skilled migrant. If I would choose to find a job offer, albeit for a couple of months, I could get 170 points and probably be accepted.

So is it better to go for the LTBV? Or should I stick to the skilled migrant category? What are your thoughts about this? Thanks in advance.

Adam

MotherBear is offline The missing link
    currently Ras al Khaimah, UAE, ex Wales, UK
    Blog Entries

Hi Adam, welcome to the forum.