Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Long Term Skills Shortage

GaryPhillips is offline Junior Member

Default Long Term Skills Shortage

Hi

I am looking for some advice regarding my EOI. I have been working in IT for 25 years, my current job title is Team Leader, I manage a team of 6 DBA's. I am an Oracle (8i/9i/10g) and SQL Server (6.5/7/2000/2005) DBA and I have passed the Oracle 10g OCP exams. I have been told that my job is on the long term skills shortage list but because I do not have a degree, I only have an HNC, I can't claim the extra 10/15 points, is this correct.

Without these points I need a job before applying.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Gary

MotherBear is offline The missing link
    currently Ras al Khaimah, UAE, ex Wales, UK
    Blog Entries

Gary, welcome to the forum.

In answer to your question, on here , right at the bottom, it says:

The following Higher National Certificates and/or Higher National Diplomas awarded by BTEC are assessed as occupying Level 5 of the Register and will therefore qualify for 50 points.
    • Agriculture
    • Business
    • Computing
    • Design (Higher National Diploma only)
    • Engineering
    • Hotel, Catering and Institutional Management (Higher National Diploma only)
    • Public Administration

I'm only assuming your IT skills come under 'Computing', but maybe I've got it wrong. Perhaps someone else who's gone down this route can verify this information.
    Mother Bear

Try to bloom wherever you are planted.

Thanks for the welcome.

I understand that I get 50 points for my HNC, in total I get 110 which on it's own is not enough to be selected from the pool. Am I correct in thinking that I can only claim the extra 10/15 points for being on the long term skills shortage if I have a degree(level 7) as well ?

Gary

Blog Entries