Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Going round in Circles!

Carolking58 is offline Junior Member

Default Going round in Circles!

new to this - have been on the NZI website and like others spent hours there. I think I'm fairly intelligent but feel totally incapacitated when I try and work my way round it. It doesn't seem to give me any chance to explain things (so to speak). We are debating whether to go EOI or holiday visa then get work permits etc.

My hubby is an HGV 1 driver - have spoken to agency over there - no real concerns about getting a job. I'm a senior lecturer in childcare - hold HNC Childhood & Youth Studies and Certificate in Education (post compulsory). Have 18 years work experience in this category. Also hold Enrolled Nurse qualification. Have been offered a job in Hamilton (what's it like there - we quite like Christchurch as an option) but either seem pretty OK.

Any tips for best route. obviously just want to be sure about selling up house, giving up jobs etc. Middle daughter doing GCSE's next summer so can't go till then. ? going for holiday in August (got to fit it in to my holidays) to have a looksee. Likes others have said - feels scary although we're happy to take the chance.

I also have Diabetes type II but if we can get there on holiday visas then work permit (hubby with me with open work permit I think - am I right?) would really want to take 6 months off then look for work. Trying to get transcript of nurse training expensive, v. time consuming.

Is it better to just get there - live off some of the money of sale of house then get jobs. Concerned about where do we put belongings (anything we don't sell) and cats? Presume we can't arrange to ship all over if we're on a hol. visa rather than work.

Any and every bit of help available greatfully received.
    CK58
    :icon_rolleyes: :icon_rolleyes: :icon_rolleyes:

Welshgirl is offline Super Moderator
    Blog Entries

Hi Carol & welcome to the forum :icon_biggrin: